Improving my Teaching Practice

Know yourself, respect yourself

Two years ago I planned to loop up with a group of children (ages 4-12 months) until they turned three. I loved this idea. I loved the fact that I could watch the children over a span of three years and see how they change, develop and form who they are. I thought that it would be so neat to be able to say confidently, “well this is why I do this with David because when he was a baby…..” Well, my dream and my actual self haven’t been matching up this year.

This year the children started out between one and two years old, now some are only a few months away from turning three. I enjoy my job, I take my work very seriously and I reflect deeply on how to improve my care. Looking back at this year, I was a fine teacher, but I wasn’t a teacher I was proud of. Two year olds are all about learning to be independent, discovering how to interact with others and who they are as a social being. They are also excellent social emotional scientist, whose greatest mission is to crack the code for when and what they can or cannot do. I have learned that these types of challenges are extremely tricky for me to stay respectful, be emotionally present and to stay calm during. I have written so much about staying calm while a child tests the limits, even though I know all about the importance of why, I just can’t stay calm.

I came to the decision (with the help of some great people to reflect with) that I just can’t loop up one more time. Looking back at the 2013-2014 school year (when the children were 4-12 months) I remember being a respectful teacher, a teacher I was pleased with, a teacher that I was proud of. I always thought I enjoyed working with two year olds, and I do but in small amounts or with a few children. I know most teachers have “their age group”, a specific age of children that they just get and enjoy being with. Right now, I think mine could be young one year olds or infants. I know it will take time to find “my place” and until I do, I will enjoy the experience and growth that comes with the searching.

Here’s a few things to wonder about: What’s your “age group”? What types of challenges can you handle with ease and come naturally to you? It’s important to know yourself as a teacher, what you can handle and when it might be time to try something else or ask for help. We need to respect children always and with that comes respecting ourselves.

One thought on “Know yourself, respect yourself

Leave a comment