Improving my Teaching Practice

My new self talk when responding to testing toddlers

Responding to testing behaviors
Responding to testing behaviors

 

Today I read Janet’s latest post, Don’t leave a testing toddler hanging, she could not have written this at a better time (at least for me!). I have to say this week was a little tricky in my classroom, a LOT of testing behavior was happening. In times like these, when the testing behavior feels like it will never come to an end, I have to remind myself that it is a good thing that the children are testing us. This type of behavior shows us they feel safe and comfortable enough to push the limits. I also am so thankful for the wonderful co-teachers and co-workers I have. I have a lot of people to talk to about how to respond to testing behavior. I feel very blessed to have such a great support system. It’s really important!

After reading this post, I have decided that when I observe a testing behavior I need to respond by, taking a breath to stay calm (this is the absolute hardest part for me especial if a lot of testing behavior is going on during the day) then tell myself: limit, acknowledge, follow through. This is a very short version of Janet’s suggestion so I can easily remember what to do (to learn more about it check out the post!). I’m going to try this out and we’ll see how it goes. I’ll post about my progress in the up coming weeks. I’m feeling very confident that this short phrase will help me stay calm longer and be more respectful/intentional about how I respond to testing behaviors.

On a side note, look for my upcoming post about infant attention span. It may surprise you 🙂

5 thoughts on “My new self talk when responding to testing toddlers

Leave a Reply

