Improving my Teaching Practice

No Turning Back

A majority of my posts last year were categorized under improving my teaching practice. One thing I will always love about being a teacher is that you can always be better, you are always learning new ways of teaching and you truly are a lifelong learner. I embrace this part of teaching. Along with this comes, regret, “I wish I would have known this then” or “I should have done this instead.” I will always admit to my mistakes because admitting them is the first step to making a change. So in the second half of the school year I will live with no regrets, I will only live with learning experiences. I have also made a promise to not turn back. After taking the RIE foundations course I worked so hard to change my teaching practice. In the beginning of this school year I began to feel these changes slip away. I refuse to let this continue happening. In 2015 there will be no turning back to my old ways.

Since my two week holiday break is ending I felt like I needed to get my brain thinking more about Magda Gerber’s work. I recently watched “Seeing Infants with New Eyes.” There were many many helpful quotes I wrote down. There were two that really stood out to me. The first one was how important it is to get into the habit of telling a child what you’re going to do before you do it. This allows you to move out of acting impulsively. When you say what you’re going to do before you do it you can catch yourself before you do something that might not be respectful or might be something you could regret later. It also allows you time to slow down a little more and gives you time to reflect and respect before you respond.

Towards the end of the video Magda says “life is an ongoing learning experience from birth to death.” Just like infants, adults also continue to learn new things every day. Just like infants we need to try and fail and try and fail until we achieve a task is the exact way we want it. Just like we do for infants, we also need to give ourselves uninterrupted time to explore, problem solve and develop our thinking in an unhurried way.

So here’s 2015, only moving forward, no regrets and never turning back to old habits!

2 thoughts on “No Turning Back

  1. I appreciate this post. I am dealing with my mother’s aging; we are reaching the place where I am becoming responsible for her, when she has been independent for so long. Also, my youngest is getting married. I am trying to keep flowing with the changes. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

