Uncategorized

Ice cubes: determined children and creative thinkers

Ice is a hot thing in our classroom; I mean a REALLY hot thing. You can’t say the word ice without at least 3 children asking for it. We give ice to the children when they get a bump that swells almost instantly, when they bite their lip or bump it and it starts to bleed or when they get bitten. I don’t bring it out every time ice is requested because there would be ice out all day, literally. This is just a limit I have; ice comes out in “serious” situations.

The ice cubes we have are plastic shapes and they are meant to go into your drink and not dilute it. The ice cubes are small and colorful and come in different shapes (sun, fruit wedges, and fish) so I get why ice is always requested.

Ice cubes

When a child asks for ice and I know I’m not going to give it to them (because it’s not one of the situations described above) I have been trying not to say “I’m not going to give you ice” but this line usually slips out. I try to talk to the children but when I do bring out the ice, times that they have used ice before or why another child has ice (these talking points were suggested to me by a wonderful mentor and I’m so thankful!). In the end if a child really wants ice, they really want ice and that’s all they can talk about. This is great and I want to support the children in being determined to get what they have their mind set on but I also want to support them in understanding that we don’t always get want we want. Not a very fun idea to teach but it’s something we face every day.

One child in the class (one of the few who actually doesn’t ask for ice) has decided that the crystal building blocks in our class are ice. This is literally the best thing ever! The other night a child asked for ice, for what seemed like no reason, but there is always a reason. The first child put one of the crystal blocks on the other child’s chin and said “here’s ice” to my surprise the other child was content with this and walked around holding the “ice” on their chin.

crystal blocks

This is why I love working with children. They are creative thinkers, wonderful problem solvers and every day they teach me something new. Who knew that the need for ice could be met with a crystal building block!?

Leave a Reply

